ginger: (Default)
[personal profile] ginger
Revised 13 October 2011

Ginger. I have legally changed my last name three times (marriage, divorce, marriage), my first name once, and tweaked my middle name around a bit too. We do not discuss my original first name, so don't ask. Thanks. :)

02. AGE
I will be 31 in December 2011.

I currently live with my housemate [ profile] nder in my brother [ profile] pyran's condo near Seattle. This is a remarkably handy situation for all three of us. And I have a kitchen.

I am a Certified Professional Coder through the American Academy of Professional Coders, which means I have letters after my name. Officially, I am a clinical data analyst and forms coordinator at a major hospital in Seattle, which means I design and maintain billing documents, do medical coding, handle a lot of billing issues, and generally do whatever needs doing, and I mostly can't make short posts to complain about problems at work, because they usually have complicated explanations needed to understand why they're problems. I have one coworker who is fabulously amazing and one who does absolutely nothing (mostly because she never comes to work), along with several others who are mostly nondescript, and right now am utterly swamped with various major projects. [ETA: The coworker who never comes to work has put in her notice effective 4/1. Yay! My boss appears to be making tiny steps toward giving me her job. Bigger yay!]

I started working for MyHospital as a temp to help on one special project in October 2004. At the end of my first week, the small ill-tempered Irish guy who held the job at the time threw a temper tantrum and quit, and my boss's boss wouldn't let him take it back (because they'd already let him take it back the last three times he quit). I applied for the opening as soon as it was posted, and was hired permanently in March 2005.

In addition, I am also a part-time cashier at a Target store in my area. Go go employee discount.

Happily and healthily single.

06. KIDS?
I am childfree -- of the sane variety, not the intarwebs crazy sort -- and have been all my life. But I have several parent friends on my LJ who would, I hope, vouch for my lack of crazy in this regard.

My brother is 2 years younger than me, married to a sweet lady with two kids (aged 10 and 15) from a previous relationship who adore him, and lives in the mid-Michigan area. He and his wife are expecting a baby in mid-January. My sister is four years younger than me and is roommates with my high school best friend. I don't see them often, but we get along much better now that we're adults. Well, my brother and I do. My sister and I get along a little better, but not much.

08. PETS
No pets. I want a dog.

If I read this as "things that take up most of my time and energy...
a. Work.
b. I am in school at full-and-two-thirds time (20 credits, when full-time is 12), with the intention of finishing my associate's degree in June and transferring to UNCG to for a BS in Public Health Studies through an online program. ETA: I finished my AA and am taking the summer off from school! I started at UNCG in August.
c. I have a couple of Masonic affiliations -- I'm an officer in my local chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star and on the advisory board for an assembly of the International Order of the Rainbow, a girls' leadership and service organization. Between OES meetings, board meetings and Rainbow meetings, they take up every Thursday evening of my life, and it's a rare weekend that I don't have an event or committee meeting for something.
d. In what little spare time I still have after that, I have quite a few knitting projects either in progress or planned, most of which have at least loose deadlines, so I do as much knitting-in-front-of-a-movie as I can.
e. Beyond knitting, I also love to read - especially historical non-fiction and auto/biographies, alternative history, and epic fantasy/SF series. Mostly my reading time is limited to on the bus and a few minutes every night before bed. This means I generally only manage 3-4 books a week. (Yes, I read like a gerbil on crack. I love my library.)

My parents were married in 1975. My mother is also a medical coder/biller (she was thrilled when she found out I was sticking with medical coding and finance) for a small family practice in Grand Ledge, and my father has been half-owner of a small office furniture and supply store in Lansing since 1988. They live just south of Lansing with three cats.

My Home currently is my parents, Joyce, Ari, Mical, Wally and La Dillo. I'm coming up on most of a year without any of them in close proximity. It's going to suck.

12. MISC:
I drive a 2009 Smart Passion named Mira. I also have three computers, also named -- a Macbook named Garibaldi, a Macbook Air named Sinclair and a Mac Mini named Sheridan. I use both Windows 7 and Mac operating systems and do not participate in or sanction OS wars. I hate talking on the phone, and love my iPad Vir.

Beyond that, I'm pretty willing to answer questions :)


ginger: (Default)

December 2016

252627282930 31


Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 20 September 2017 01:02 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios